Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I love Mondays. Yeah, you heard right. I LOVE MONDAYS. I’m probably the only person in this planet happy to see the weekend end. Another one of my “weirdnesses” I guess.

I don’t know, maybe it’s because weekends are usually kind of “slow” for me. Not much going on, pretty much the same old routine of running errands and such… They feel so non-productive to me that by the time Sunday night comes around, I can’t wait to get the work week going.

Yesterday however, was an exception. Yesterday, I was part of a “Family Iron Chef” competition. Ever wonder what a food geek’s idea of fun is? Well this is it. Recreating Food Network shows, just for the fun of it.

Last year, we did “Chopped in the Family”. This year, it was our own version of “Iron Chef Amerrica”. Organized and very meticulously put together by my 16 year old nice. Vicky and I got to compete against Vicky’s two sister-in-laws. The secret ingredient? Jersey corn. One hour to prepare three courses in a hot kitchen with limited counter space and only four burners. Let me tell you, the real Iron Chef Competition is a piece of cake compared to that.

But I’ll tell you what the most challenging part was for me: my 6 year old son’s brutally honest feedback. Anything from: “I didn’t like anything about this dish!” to “Why did you put cheese here, you know I don’t like cheese!” to “Mommy, corn does not go with ice cream!” And finally, the kiss of death: “I really want my mom to win, but I’m pretty sure she’s going to lose…” All that coming from a kind hearted kid who is always concerned about other people’s feelings. Ouch. Oh well, at least he’s learning to be honest!

We did have a great time though, despite the harsh comments. And definitely made the weekend a bit more “exciting”, so it’s all good 🙂

Enjoy your Monday… and stay cool!

Ruth

Prep time: 5 minutes
Ingredients (makes between a quart and a half and 2 quarts):

  • 1/4 of a large, seedless watermelon, diced (preferably cold)
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice
  • 3 tbs of raw agave nectar (or to taste)*
  • Coarse sea salt and fresh lime wedges for garnish

 *Note: If you like your drink more on the sour side, like we do, reduce the amount of agave or skip it all together.

  1. Combine watermelon, lime juice and agave in a blender
  2. Blend until smooth and refrigerate until ready to serve
  3. Before serving, place sea salt on a small plate, wet the rim of the cups with a fresh lime wedge and gently dab it into the salt until all the rim is covered, shaking the excess
  4. Pour cold watermelon limeade, garnish with a lime wedge
  5. Enjoy! From May I Have That Recipe