Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I first met my husband Lee, he was a vegan. Nothing wrong with that, at all. Here’s the problem though. He was a “lazy” vegan. I’m sure you all know what I mean by that. He never cooked anything. Ever. Maybe a PB and J sandwich. Maybe some chips and salsa.

Oh, yeah, and he used to get those frozen lentil rice loaf things. Lentil rice loaf. Seriously, with all do respect, what is that? Maybe it tasted good. I don’t know. And maybe it was somewhat nutritious. I don’t know. But I was never able to get over that dog food look. Mush, mush, mush.

After we got married, I was determined to never see one of those things again. So you know what I did? I made him this dish. And he loved it. That was the end of the frozen lentil rice loaf. Mission accomplished.

Cook time: 45 minutes
Ingredients (serves 4)

– 1 cup lentils
– 1 cup parboiled rice
– 4 cups water, divided
Salt to taste (we recommend at least 2 tsp)

Onion topping

– 2 large Spanish onions, sliced
– 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
Salt to taste

Tomato and cucumber salad topping

– 1 large cucumber (we prefer seedless), diced
– 1 pint of grape tomatoes (we like to mix red and yellow), sliced in half
– ¼ cup chopped parsley
– 3 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
– 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
– Salt to taste

1) In a large soup pot, boil lentils in 2 cups of salted water until “al dente”
2) Add remaining 2 cups of water, rice and salt. Bring to a boil and simmer until all the water has been absorbed (about 20 minutes)
3) In the mean time, prepare the onion topping. In a large skillet, sauté the sliced onions in olive oil, add salt and cook until they start to brown. Add balsamic vinegar and cook until caramelized.
4) For salad topping, mix all the ingredients in a medium size bowl. Toss it all together and let it sit for a few minutes.
5) Serve the rice and lentils and add the caramelized onion topping and the salad.
6) ENJOY!! From May I have that recipe.

