Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you guys ever get bored in the kitchen? Do you get tired of making the same things over and over, year after year, especially during the Holidays? I do.

I need to mix it up a little. I need to keep it interesting. Bring some creativity. I need to not be bored. Because boredom will literally soak into my food and make it, well… boring. And tasteless.

And when you expect guests (lots of them) for the Holidays, tasteless food is simply not acceptable.

With Passover only a couple of weeks away, we are definitely up for the challenge. We know that everyone loves the classics: matzah ball soup, gefiltefish and kugel. But this year, we are giving them a makeover. “May I have that recipe” style.

So, here’s our piece of advice for today: play with your food. Be bold. Be creative. Be daring. Your food (and your guests) will thank you for it.

Let’s talk about fish. Gefiltefish, to be more specific. Let me think…What can I say about it? Tough one.

Honestly, I had never heard of it until I spent my first Passover here in the US. First time I saw it, I had no idea what it was. I’m totally serious.  But that shouldn’t be a surprise, we grew up in Spain, in a Sephardic household, don’t forget…

I have to admit though, to this day, I have never tried it.  Never. But I know for sure it has to taste good, since most people I know love it. Even people who hate fish . Even people who wouldn’t eat fish, even if it was prepared by the most talented chef in the world. Weird…

Don’t get me wrong, I have absolutely nothing against it. But for me, it’s a texture thing. I can’t get over it. I just can’t.

So how about this year, we don’t let the gefiltefish platter stand alone on the table? How about we introduce a new player to the game? After all, there are plenty of fish in the sea, right?

Prep Time: 15 Minutes

Cooking Time: 20 Minutes

Ingredients (serves 4):

  • 4 Tilapia fillets
  • 1 Cup Matza cake meal ( we use it instead of flour )
  • 1 Cup Matza meal  ( we use it instead of panko bread crumbs )
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Salsa

  • 1 large avocado or 2 small ones, diced
  • 2 mangoes, diced
  • 3 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup fresh chopped cilantro ( you can substitute for parsley or basil)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp hot paprika (optional)
  1. Pre-heat oven at 375F
  2. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper
  3. Season fish on both sides, with salt and pepper to taste
  4. Place matza meal, matza cake meal and eggs in 3 separate plates and season with salt and pepper to taste
  5. Dip fish in matza meal, shake excess, then dip it in the egg and then in the matza meal
  6. Pour oil on baking sheet spread it well (you can use your hands)
  7. Place “breaded” fish on baking sheet, making sure the oil coats one side of the fish. Turn the fish over and press it down lightly.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes until the fish is crispy.

Salsa

  1. Place diced mango and avocado in a medium bowl
  2. Add salt, lemon juice, cilantro (and hot paprika if using) and toss gently.
  3. Spoon salsa over fish before serving. Fish can be served hot or cold.
  4. ENJOY! From May I have That Recipe

