Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love Facebook. I really do. I’ll admit it with no shame.

No, I don’t spend my days glued to the computer waiting to find out stuff about people. I don’t sign on first thing in the morning while my coffee is brewing. None of that.

The reason I love it, is because it has given me the opportunity to reconnect with a lot people. Friends I left behind when I left Barcelona. Friends I’ve known since I was in kindergarten. They are now back in my life. And I realize how much I’ve missed them.

One friend in particular inspired me to experiment with this recipe. And I’m sure she’s reading this right now. Yes Ori, I’m talking about you. For some reason I started thinking about your mom’s Chicken and Olives. How you used to rave about it every single year during Passover. How you used to say it was the best thing, ever. All those years, and I never had a chance to taste it.

So… of course, I decided to make up my own. A little bit of this, a little bit of that… I wonder if it came out as good as your mom’s. I think I know the answer to that, but maybe you should come visit and tell me what you think. I miss you!

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 90 minutes

Ingredients (Serves 6-8):

  • 2 lbs boneless chicken thighs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbs sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp hot paprika
  • 2 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 3 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, sliced
  • 5 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 can cracked Mediterranean olives
  • 2 plum tomatoes, diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup fresh chopped cilantro, divided
  1. Heat up olive oil in a large skillet
  2. Season chicken with salt, sweet and hot paprika, turmeric, pepper and cumin.
  3. Arrange chicken in the skillet and brown 5-7 minutes per side. Remove from skillet and set aside
  4. In the same skillet, cook onions and garlic until onions are soft and translucent
  5. Add plum tomatoes and cook for 5 minutes
  6. Take the pit out of the olives by pressing gently each olive on a cutting board with the bottom of a glass
  7. Add  chicken, olives and chicken broth to the skillet.  Bring to a boil, turn down heat and let simmer for 45 minutes.
  8. Add lemon juice and 1/2 cup of fresh chopped cilantro.
  9. Simmer for another 30 minutes.  Adjust seasoning if necessary
  10. Before serving, garnish with 1/2 cup with fresh chopped cilantro.
  11. ENJOY! From May I Have that Recipe
