Tags

, , , , , , ,

You gotta love the weather on the East Coast. First day of summer and boom! We get hit with a heat wave. It’s been extremely humid and close to 100 degrees for 3 days now and I can’t wait for it to be over already. Not sure how many bad hair days I can handle!!

I do, however love the fact that, in this heat, all I think of eating is light, refreshing food. Fresh fruit, salads… I love it. It makes me feel somewhat “cleansed”.

It also sparks my imagination to come up with new, fun combinations. In my house, it’s a new salad almost every day during the summer.

So here’s one of my favorites: heirloom tomato and avocado wheat berry salad. Super simple and delicious, refreshing and filling.

Here’s a suggestion though. Because the wheat berries take a little time to cook, make extra and store them in the fridge. Use them as a side dish for dinner… or to make more salad!

Have a great weekend,

Vicky

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 60-90 minutes
Ingredients (serves 6-8):

  • 1 cup of raw wheat berries (we use Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 large avocado, diced (*Note: to keep the avocados from turning black, dice them right before adding  to the salad, or squeeze some lemon juice on them if preparing in advance)
  • 1 lb mini Heirloom tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1 cup chopped parsley
  • “3 mustards” salad dressing
  1. Bring 4 cups water to a boil in a soup pot. Add salt and wheat berries, reduce heat to medium, cover and cook until wheat is tender, slightly “al dente”, about 60-90 minutes
  2. In the mean time, prepare “3 mustards” salad dressing and refrigerate until ready to use
  3. In a large bowl, combine cooked wheat berries, diced avocado, sliced tomatoes and chopped parsley
  4. Add salad dressing to taste and carefully toss all the ingredients together.
  5. Enjoy! From May I have that recipe

