Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Turmeric cake. Believe it or not, one of the simplest, most delicious cakes I’ve ever had in my life. My grandmother used to make it for us all the time when we were kids. And I guess the reason I love it so much, is because it reminds me of her. I haven’t seen her in almost 7 years and I think about her every day.

For years I’ve tried to figure out how to make this cake. It’s so simple, yet I never quite got it right. It’s been driving me crazy. And the recipe my grandmother gave me was all “a little bit of this and a little bit of that”… So I tried using it as a guide, but the result was never the same.

I did, however discover during my many, many trials, that mixing turmeric and baking soda turns your cake red once you bake it. Kind of like an all natural red velvet cake, only bitter. Pretty neat, uh?

So finally, after all the science experiments and a few disasters, I came up with this recipe we’re sharing today. Still not exactly my grandmother’s cake… but I think it’s time to accept that, no matter how much I try, it will never be like hers. Because it’s missing the most important ingredient: her loving touch.

Hope you guys enjoy it.
Ruth

*Read about the benefits of Turmeric in this article by Dr. Andrew Weil: 

Turmeric Health Benefits: Have a Happy New Year With Turmeric

Prep time: 5 minutes
Cook time: 45 minutes
Ingredients:

  • 3 cups self rising flour
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • 1 ½ cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Pinch of salt
  • ¾ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 ¾ cups SWEETENED almond, coconut or soy milk (here we used Silk Pure Almond)
  • 1 tbsp tahini (sesame paste)
  • Shelled pistachios for garnish
  • Preheat the oven to 350F
  • Coat the bottom and sides of a 11x7x1.5in baking dish with tahini
  • In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, turmeric and shredded coconut and salt. Mix well.
  • Add vegetable oil and milk and gently stir all the ingredients together until just combined (do not over mix)
  • Spoon batter evenly onto prepared baking dish
  • Decorate with pistachios on top and bake at 350F for approximately 45 minutes. Let sit for at least 15 minutes before cutting
  • ENJOY! From May i have that recipe
